Child Passenger Safety
2014-2015 Louisiana Child Passenger Safety Technician Class Locations
2013 Child Passenger Safety Week
Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force Grant Funded Fitting Stations 2013-2014
(this service provided by the Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force at locations throughout the state)
NHTSA Recommended Child Safety Restraint Usage and Booster Seat Usage
USAA Publication for Child Passenger Installation
USAA Publication for Child Safety In and Around Vehicles
Child Safety Seat Affidavit
In accordance with RS 32:414T, the department shall suspend the license of any person upon notification of the first or second conviction under R.S.32:295, until such time as he provides the department with a notarized affidavit stating he has acquired an approved age- or size-appropriate child restraint system.
CLICK here for copy of Affidavit
2011 Child Passenger Safety Observational Survey
Child Passenger Safety Statistics
The Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force is focused on raising awareness about occupant
protection and provides widespread community education and coordinated child safety seat checks throughout
Louisiana. To reach the objectives, LPSTF sought to reduce motor vehicle-related fatal and injury crashes to children
through the following activities.
- Coordinate and support educational efforts by CPS advisory group members during
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) campaigns (such as Buckle Up America or National CPS Week).
- Provide five-day standardized child passenger safety (CPS) instructor/ technician
classes in geographically appropriate areas for statewide impact. Areas will be selected based on lack of trained
individuals in a particular area and accessibility for training facilities.
- Maintain a CPS advisory group to help provide a statewide comprehensive network
of certified CPS technicians and instructors. The group would meet quarterly and be responsible for gathering and
maintaining a database of all Louisiana CPS technicians.
- Create and maintain standardized, minimum requirements for CPS instruction provided
during state generated CPS courses and the four-day NHTSA courses.
- Conduct checkup events throughout the state.
- Provide one-day instructional courses to recruit technicians, educate
community groups, and promote occupant protection.
Child Occupant Seatbelt (R.S. 32:295)
- Children under the age of 6 years or less than 60 lbs. must be in a child restraint system or booster seat that
is age and size appropriate, in accordance with manufacturers recommendations. Children 6 to 12 years of age must
be restrained by a lap belt, shoulder harness, or an age / size appropriate child safety or booster seat.
Child Restraint Affidavit (RS 32:414T) The department shall send written notification to the driver to inform them of 30 day allowance for the driver to show an affidavtit for proof that an appropriate child safety seat has been obtained. Following the 30 day period, if not affidavit has been provided, the Department shall suspend the license of any person upon notification of the first or second conviction, until such time as he provides the department with a notarized affidavit stating he has acquired an approved age- or size-appropriate child restraint system where applicable and has complied with all other requirements of reinstatement as provided by law and department regulation.