Clear Spacer
Louisiana.gov > DPS > HSC > Drive Sober Text Size Plus Button Minus Button
 

Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over Campaign

Campaign Dates: August 16 - September 2, 2013

pdf 2012 Highlights

pdf 2013 Number of DWI by Parish

pdf 2013 Top Problem ID Parishes


Drive Sober Videos

Windows Media Player Icon Invisible Buddies

Windows Media Player Icon Invisible Motorcycle

Windows Media Player Icon Invisible Couple


Drive Sober Charts


Alcohol-Impaired Fatalities as Percent of Total Fatalities as Compared to Nation Chart

Alcohol-Related Fatalities Have Substantially Declined Chart

DWI Arrest Trends Graph

Louisiana Impaired Driving Laws


Refusal of chemical test and consequences (R.S. 32:666) - A driver involved in a fatality does not have the right to refuse a chemical test to determine alcohol impairment. As a result of any other violation that prohibits operating a vehicle while intoxicated the suspect may refuse after being told the consequences. Result of consequences: Driver’s license will be seized, issuance of license or permit denied for 6 months, refusal is admissible in a criminal action and a civil action to suspend, revoke, or cancel his driving privileges.


BAC .08 (R.S. 14:98>) - DWI for all drivers over the age of 21 is .08 BAC; under 21 the BAC limit is .02


Ignition Interlock (R.S. 32:378.2) - Requires installation of ignition interlock devices to be eligible for a hardship drivers license upon arrest of a first offense DWI or for one year ignition interlock upon first offense DWI conviction. Duration extends for multiple convictions.


Zero Tolerance for under 21 (R.S. 14:98.1) - .02 BAC** for persons under 21 years of age.


Alcohol under 21 (R.S. 14:93.10) (R.S. 14:93.11) (R.S. 14:93.12) - It is illegal for persons under the age of 21 to buy, consume, or have an alcoholic beverage in their possession.


Provider (R.S. 14:93.13) - It is illegal for any person, other than a parent, spouse, or legal guardian, to purchase alcohol beverages on behalf of a person under 21 years of age.


Contributing (R.S. 14:92) - Intentional, enticing, aiding, soliciting, or permitting, by anyone over the age of 17, of any child under the age of 17, with no exception for emancipation, marriage, or otherwise, to visit any place where alcohol is the principle commodity sold or given away.


Child Endangerment (R.S. 14:98.J) - If a child 12 years or younger is a passenger in a vehicle where the driver is charged with DWI the minimum mandatory sentence for 1st -3rd DWI conviction shall not be suspended and for 4th DWI conviction at least two years of the sentence shall be imposed without benefit of suspension.


Improper Supervision (R.S. 14:92.2) - A parent or legal custodian of a minor, through criminal negligence, the permitting of a minor to violate a local or municipal curfew ordinance or enter the premises known by the parent or custodian as a place of underage drinking.


Open Container (R.S. 32:300) - It is illegal for any occupant of a vehicle to possess an alcoholic beverage that is open to consumption.


Driver’s License Seizure (R.S. 32:414) - A DWI conviction will result in a 365 day suspended driver’s license.


Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player



Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over Logo

LHSC Logo